FAQs

What is GIS?

GIS (geographic information system) technology is commonly described as a computerised system for the compilation, access, retrieval, analysis and display of geographic and geographic-related data. Modern GIS is much more than computerised mapping - it provides the technology basis for an information infrastructure for bringing all manner of data together geographically to support integrated and multi-sector decision-making at many levels.

Top

What is GIS?

GIS (geographic information system) technology is commonly described as a computerised system for the compilation, access, retrieval, analysis and display of geographic and geographic-related data. Modern GIS is much more than computerised mapping - it provides the technology basis for an information infrastructure for bringing all manner of data together geographically to support integrated and multi-sector decision-making at many levels.

What is Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI)?

A Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI) provides a framework of standards, policies, data, procedures, and technology to support the effective coordination and sharing of spatial information among a community of stakeholders. Extensive national SDI programmes are now underway in North America, Europe, Australia and elsewhere, and a Global Spatial Data Infrastructure (GSDI) programme has been formed. These existing programmes have established important groundwork, but some countries with rapidly transforming economies are not organisationally ready to adopt these models at a similar rate of development, and many have special political, economic and legal contexts that require a unique approach. For most countries in the world, SDI involves a step-by-step, incremental process that must acknowledge the special circumstances of each nation.

What is the Abu Dhabi Spatial Data Infrastructure (AD-SDI)?

The Abu Dhabi Spatial Data Infrastructure (AD-SDI) is conceived as a national programme to harmonise, integrate and optimise the development and sharing of fundamental geographical and statistical information across all government agencies and institutions. The development of this programme is being carried out through a step-by-step, practical process that will establish a strategic and evolving framework for a long term AD-SDI, and provide coordination and support to the development of its various components through a carefully conceived and guided incremental process. It is recognised that this infrastructure can only be as strong as the community of agency stakeholders that comprise it, thus each component of the programme will seek to build on and leverage the many good works being carried out in many of the more progressive agencies in Abu Dhabi, across all sectors. This programme is being sponsored in Abu Dhabi by the Abu Dhabi Systems and Information Centre (ADSIC), under leadership of HE Rashed Lahej Al Mansoori.

For more information concerning the AD-SDI programme, please contact us.

Who is involved in the AD-SDI?

The AD-SDI programme is meant to develop into a broad and inclusive effort, starting with public sector agencies but eventually encompassing the private sector and civil society. In the foundation stage of building the AD-SDI, a number of key agencies have been selected to participate in the initial AD-SDI programme. Most of these agencies are either those that have a mandate to provide critical geospatial data, or that are currently involved in major projects that involve the production of this information. Coordinators from each agency are to be assigned to work with the AD-SDI team. The key agencies include:

  • Abu Dhabi Systems and Information Centre (ADSIC)
  • The Department of Municipal Affairs (DMA)
  • Abu Dhabi Municipality (ADM)
  • Al Ain Municipality (AAM)
  • Western Region Municipality (WRM)
  • Military Survey Department (MSD)
  • Environmental Agency Abu Dhabi (EAD)
  • Department of Economic Development (DED)
  • Abu Dhabi Water and Electricity Authority (ADWEA)
  • Etisalat
  • Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC)
  • Urban Planning Council (UPC).

Other government agencies that may provide less important geospatial data or that have a lighter use of such data will also participate in this foundation stage.

What is the Spatial Data Centre (SDC)?

The SDC (Spatial Data Centre) is a unit that has been set up within the e-Government Programme to facilitate, coordinate, and support the foundation building stage of the AD-SDI.  It comprises a team of GIS and SDI professionals, strategic planning specialists, outreach specialists, and GIS technicians that have been assembled to operate the SDC through its important initiation stage. The form, function, staffing, and administrative position of the SDC will be shaped according to the AD-SDI Strategic Plan, Programme Design, and Implementation Plan, all now under development.

What are Fundamental Geographic Data Sets (FGDS)?

The FGDS framework is a set of essential data themes which are the building blocks for planning and design of a national spatial data infrastructure. There already exist international data model standards that address many of the fundamental data topics that will be developed through large or emirate-wide projects. Because these models reflect the experiences and results of trial-and-error to many considerations by a broad group of users, they are often quite comprehensive, large and complicated. The AD-SDI Team reviewed many of these models for their applicability to the situation in Abu Dhabi and crafted an overall Data Framework to meet the needs of the broader AD-SDI, inclusive of ongoing and planned emirate-wide projects. A data framework and model research report was generated previously that presents the results of this research and developed an FGDS framework for Abu Dhabi. It is expected that this initial framework will be periodically updated and refined as the AD-SDI development progresses.

What is the difference between Fundamental and Framework Data Sets?

FGDS can be characterized as ‘fundamental’ or ‘framework’.

Fundamental Data Sets. These are topics that are commonly needed by many organizations, and it is this common need that makes them fundamental. They may be geospatial "primitives" (i.e. basic spatial information upon which other information can be linked or derived), or they may be derived. For example, average rainfall depicted with isoline rainfall contours may be fundamental information for agriculturalists and water managers, but is derived from information gathered at meteorological stations.

Framework Data Sets. These are topics that are geospatial primitives to which other topical data sets and statistics can be linked. As such, all framework data sets are fundamental, but the opposite is not true. For example, a parcel boundary database can provide a framework for linking many other types of data such as ownership, building permits, student records, and utility customer records. Framework data sets are, by definition, fundamental data sets as well.

What is scale?

Scale refers to measurements on a map, as compared to measurements in the real world. For example, the distance represented by one centimeter on a 1:20,000 scale map would be equivalent to 20,000 centimeters, or 200 meters, on the face of the earth. It is best to think of scale as a fraction in determining whether a particular scale is small or large. For example, data at 1:1,000 or 1:5,000 would be referred to as large scale, while data at 1:100,000 or 1:1,000,000 would be referred to as small scale. In fractional terms, 1:1,000 equals 0.001, while 1:1,000,000 equals 0.000001, and therefore, the 1:1,000 scale data is at a larger scale because the resulting value (0.001 versus 0.000001) is larger. This distinction can be confusing because the amount of area depicted at smaller scales increases, while the amount of detail decreases.

small scale and large scale

Does scale matter?

In a GIS, data can be physically displayed at any scale desired; however, the compilation scale of the information will often dictate the level or resolution of mapped features that is appropriate. Large scale mapping tends to be more accurate and detailed than small scale mapping. The more detailed the mapping, the greater the effort to collect, store, maintain, manipulate and display the information. Also, displaying very detailed information as a regional level may be slow in a GIS because of the amount of coordinate information involved, and the inappropriate detail may graphically clutter the resulting map view. Conversely, information compiled at a gross scale may not be detailed enough to support local applications.

Based on the above, compiling the geographic information at an appropriate level of resolution involves a careful balance between application needs for accuracy and detail, and the resulting constraints related to building and maintaining the database at that level. On the other hand, display rules can be configured within GIS applications to help users in locating and accessing information depending on the geographic extent of their viewing and purpose of specific applications.

What is relationship between accuracy and scale?

The relative accuracy of linear and aerial measurements may vary from one place to another but on the other hand, accuracy requirements become less stringent as we move up to smaller scales. Therefore, maintaining a comprehensive metadata on the various data sources with their accuracy levels is very crucial. Also, when linear features such as roads and highways are compiled at a relatively large scale, it is recommended that a generalized version of those features be derived when they are displayed at smaller scale in order to reduce GIS application performance degradation. However, when facility data has been compiled as point features at a given scale, they can be re-projected at the smaller scale “on-the-fly” by the application software without excessive performance degradation.

What scales are relevant for the AD-SDI?

All scales are relevant for the AD-SDI. However, for the purpose of organizing this foundation stage, scales will be grouped in the FGDS in three levels or ranges:

Large. The mapping scale for this level is 1:1,000 – 1:5,000+. This scale is required primarily for engineering level works including facility mapping and management, streetscape design, urban and architectural design and localized environmental inventory and assessment. This scale is suitable for all aspects of engineering planning and design, but does not preclude the need for site specific engineering work, including site surveys and the locating of underground utilities, before actual implementation.

Medium. The mapping scale for this level is 1:10,000 – 1:50,000+. This scale mapping includes urban and peri-urban areas. Data compilation for this scale may be carried out at 1:1,000 and generalized to this level. This level of data is often used for urban land use planning, transportation planning and analysis and boundary delineation.

Small. The mapping scale for this level is 1:100,000 and above. This scale mapping includes the urban hinterland, rural areas and other areas of distributed human settlement, farms, plantations and related issues, and usually depicts relatively generalized information for the entire emirate. Such mapping may be carried out using data compiled at 1:10,000 to 1:25,000 and generalized to this level. This level of data is often used for land use planning, natural resource inventory and assessment, toxic release modeling, localized groundwater modeling, soils and superficial geology mapping, and for assessing such issues as climate, emirate-wide groundwater assessment, and urban growth projections.

سؤال وجواب

ما هو نظام المعلومات الجغرافية؟

يُرمز إلى هذا النظام في اللغة الإنجليزية بالحروف (GIS) أي (Geographic Information System) وهو عبارة عن تقنية تستخدم الحاسب الآلي لتجميع البيانات الجغرافية والبيانات المتعلقة بالجغرافيا والحصول عليها واستعادتها وتحليلها وعرضها.  إن نظام المعلومات  الجغرافية الحديث ليس مجرد رسم للخرائط باستخدام الحاسب الآلي، بل يتعداه إلى أكثر من ذلك، إذ أنه يوفر الأساس التكنولوجي للبنية التحتية للمعلومات من أجل دمج كل أنواع البيانات جغرافياً لمساندة عملية اتخاذ قرار موحد يغطي قطاعات متعددة على عدة مستويات.

العودة إلى أعلى الصفحة

ما هو نظام المعلومات الجغرافية؟

يُرمز إلى هذا النظام في اللغة الإنجليزية بالحروف (GIS) أي (Geographic Information System) وهو عبارة عن تقنية تستخدم الحاسب الآلي لتجميع البيانات الجغرافية والبيانات المتعلقة بالجغرافيا والحصول عليها واستعادتها وتحليلها وعرضها.  إن نظام المعلومات  الجغرافية الحديث ليس مجرد رسم للخرائط باستخدام الحاسب الآلي، بل يتعداه إلى أكثر من ذلك، إذ أنه يوفر الأساس التكنولوجي للبنية التحتية للمعلومات من أجل دمج كل أنواع البيانات جغرافياً لمساندة عملية اتخاذ قرار موحد يغطي قطاعات متعددة على عدة مستويات.

ما هي البنية التحتية للبيانات المكانية؟

يُرمز إليها في اللغة الإنجليزية بالحروف (SDI) أي (Spatial Data Infrastructure) توفر هذه البنية التحتية إطاراً من المعايير والسياسات والبيانات والإجراءات والتقنية لمساندة عملية تبادل المعلومات المكانية بشكل فعال فيما بين مجموعة من الجهات المعنية والتنسيق فيما بينهم بهذا الشأن. ويجري حالياً تنفيذ البرامج الوطنية الشاملة للبنية التحتية للبيانات المكانية في أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا واستراليا وغيرها، ولقد تم إعداد برنامج عالمي للبينية التحتية للبيانات المكانية شكلت البرامج الحالية المختلفة أساساً جيداً له، إلا أن بعض الدول التي تشهد اقتصادياتها تحولات متسارعة ليست مستعدة تنظيمياً بعد لتبني مثل هذه البرامج بنفس معدلات التطور مثل دول أخرى، إضافة إلى أن الكثير من الدول لديها توجهات سياسية واقتصادية وقانونية خاصة تتطلب منها مقاربة موحدة تجاه هذه البرامج. إن معظم دول العالم تطبق برنامج البنية التحتية للبيانات المكانية خطوة خطوة إذ أن النمو التراكمي في هذا المجال يجب أن يأخذ بالحسبان الظروف الخاصة لكل واحدة من هذه الدول.

ما هو برنامج البيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي؟

يعتبر برنامج البيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي برنامج وطني يهدف إلى الموائمة بين مختلف المعلومات الجغرافية الأساسية والإحصائية وتوحيدها بقصد تحقيق الاستفادة القصوى من تطوير مثل هذه المعلومات وتبادلها فيما بين مختلف الدوائر والمؤسسات الحكومية. يجري حالياً تطوير هذا المشروع تدريجياً وبشكل عملي بحيث يمكن له أن يضع إطاراً إستراتيجياً وتطويرياً لبنية تحتية للبيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي على المدى الطويل، وأن يوفر تنسيقاً ومساندة لتطوير مكوناته المتعددة وذلك من خلال عملية تراكمية تدريجية موضوعة وموجهة بعناية شديدة. ومن المتعارف عليه أن هذه البنية التحتية لن تكون قوية إلا بقدر ما تكون مكوناتها من الجهات المعنية من الدوائر والهيئات قوية، لذلك ستسعى كل من مكونات أو عناصر هذا المشروع إلى الاستفادة من الأعمال الناجحة العديدة التي يجري تطبيقها في العديد من الدوائر والهيئات الحكومية الأكثر تطوراً في إمارة أبوظبي وفي أرجاء كافة القطاعات. يقوم مركز أبوظبي للأنظمة الإلكترونية والمعلومات بالإشراف على هذا البرنامج الوطنية.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول برنامج البيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي، يُرجى الاتصال بنا.

من هم المشاركون في برنامج البيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي؟

من المقرر لهذا البرنامج أن ينمو ليصبح مجهوداً واسع النطاق يشمل دوائر وهيئات القطاع الحكومي في بدايته إلى أن يتطور ليشمل القطاع الخاص والمجتمع المدني. وخلال المرحلة التأسيسية لهذا البرنامج، جرى اختيار مجموعة من الدوائر والهيئات الرئيسية لتشارك في تنفيذ مراحله الأولية. ولقد وقع الاختيار على هذه الأطراف لأن معظمها إما لديها تفويض لتقديم بيانات مكانية جغرافية حساسة أو أنها تشارك في الوقت الراهن في مشاريع كبرى لإنتاج مثل هذه البيانات. ومن المفترض أن يتم قريباً تعيين ضباط تنسيق من هذه الدوائر والهيئات للعمل مع فريق برنامج البيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي.

أهم هذه الدوائر والهيئات المشاركة في البرنامج هي:

  • مركز أبوظبي للأنظمة الإلكترونية والمعلومات
  • دائرة الشؤون البلدية
  • بلدية أبوظبي
  • بلدية العين
  • بلدية المنطقة الغربية
  • شعبة المساحة العسكرية
  • هيئة البيئة أبوظبي
  • دائرة التنمية الإقتصادية
  • هيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي
  • اتصالات
  • شركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية - أدنوك
  • مجلس أبوظبي للتخطيط العمراني

كما تشارك في المرحلة التأسيسية من هذا المشروع دوائر وهيئات حكومية أخرى لديها بيانات مكانية جغرافية أقل أهمية أو قلما تستخدم مثل هذه البيانات.

ما هو مركز البيانات المكانية؟

مركز البيانات المكانية هو وحدة عمل تم إنشاؤها ضمن برنامج الحكومة الإلكترونية في إمارة أبوظبي والذي يقوم عليه مركز أبوظبي للأنظمة الإلكترونية والمعلومات وذلك لتنسيق وتسهيل ودعم بناء البنية التحتية للبيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي. يضم هذا المركز خبراء لنظم المعلومات الجغرافية وخبراء وتقنيين في البنية التحتية للبيانات المكانية بالإضافة إلى خبراء في التخطيط الاستراتيجي والعلاقات العامة يعملون سوياً لتشغيل هذا المركز في هذه المرحلة التأسيسية. نعمل حالياً على وضع الشكل الذي سيتخذه هذا المركز ووظيفته وعملية اختيار الموظفين وذلك وفق الخطة الاستراتيجية، وخطة التنفيذ قيد التحضير حالياً.

ما هي مجموعات البيانات الجغرافية الأساسية؟

يُرمز إلى هذه المجموعات في اللغة الإنجليزية بالحروف (FGDS) أي (Fundamental Geographic Data Sets) إنها عبارة عن مجموعات من مواضيع البيانات الجوهرية التي تشكل اللبنات أو الوحدات البنائية لتخطيط البنية التحتية للبيانات المكانية وتصميمها. إن مواضيع البيانات الأساسية التي يجري تطبيقها في أبوظبي من خلال مشاريع واسعة النطاق أو على مستوى إمارة أبوظبي يمكن لها أن تستفيد من المعايير الدولية لنموذج البيانات الموجودة مسبقاً في العالم.

تنظر مجموعة واسعة من مستخدمي هذه النماذج الدولية إليها على أنها واسعة وشاملة جداً ومعقدة أيضاً نظراً لأنها تمثل في نظرهم حصيلة تم التوصل إليها عن طريق المحاولة والخطأ والتصويب. لأجل ذلك قام الفريق المكلف بهذا المشروع بمراجعة ودراسة الكثير من هذه النماذج لتقرير مدى إمكانية تطبيقها في ظل الظروف الخاصة بإمارة أبوظبي، وبعد ذلك أعد الفريق إطار بيانات كلي يلبي احتياجات الجانب الأكبر من برنامج تنسيق البيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي ومتضمناً للمشاريع الحالية والمقررة مستقبلاً على نطاق إمارة أبوظبي. وقد صدر مسبقاً تقرير عن إطار البيانات ودراسة النموذج حيث عرض ذلك التقرير للنتائج التي توصلت إليها تلك الدراسة، إضافة إلى أنه وضع إطاراً لمجموعة البيانات الجغرافية الأساسية لإمارة أبوظبي. ومن المتوقع أن يجري تحديث هذا الإطار الأولي ومراجعته بشكل دوري كلما تقدم العمل في مشروع برنامج البيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي.

ما الفرق بين مجموعات البيانات الأساسية ومجموعات البيانات الهيكلية؟

تتصف مجموعات البيانات الجغرافية الأساسية بأنها إما " أساسية" أو "هيكلية".

مجموعات البيانات الأساسية- إنها مواضيع تحتاج الكثير من الدوائر والهيئات إليها بشكل مشترك، وهذه الحاجة المشتركة إليها هي التي تجعلها أساسية. يمكن لهذه المجموعات المكانية الجغرافية أن تكون "أساسيات" (أي أنها معلومات مكانية أساسية يمكن لمعلومات أخرى أن تتصل بها أو تُستخلص منها) أو أنه يمكن استخلاصها. على سبيل المثال، يمكن لمعدل هطول الأمطار الذي توضحه خارطة الأمطار أن يشكل معلومات أساسية بالنسبة للمتخصصين في علم الزراعة أو المعنيين بقضايا المياه، ولكن مثل هذه المعلومة تم جمعها من محطة الأرصاد الجوية.

مجموعات البيانات الهيكلية- إنها مواضيع تُعتبر أساسيات مكانية جغرافية يمكن ربط مجموعات بيانات مواضيع وإحصائيات أخرى إليها. وبناء على ذلك، تكون جميع مجموعات البيانات الهيكلية أساسية، ولكن العكس غير صحيح، أي لا يمكن لمجموعة البيانات الأساسية أن تكون هيكلية. على سبيل المثال، تستطيع قاعدة بيانات خاصة بحدود قطعة ارض ما أن توفر إطاراً لربط الكثير من أنواع البيانات الأخرى مثل الملكية، تراخيص البناء، سجلات الطلاب وسجلات منفعة العملاء. وبالتعريف، يمكن القول أن مجموعات البيانات الهيكلية هي نفسها مجموعات البيانات الأساسية.

ما هو مقياس الخرائط ؟

يُشير المقياس إلى مقاييس طولية على الخريطة مقارنة بالمقاييس الحقيقية على الأرض. على سبيل المثال ، تمثل المسافة بالسنتيمتر على خريطة تستخدم مقياس 1 : 20.000 مسافة على الأرض تساوي 20.000 سم أي 200 م. إذا ما أردنا أن نعرف إن كان المقياس الذي تستخدمه خريطة ما صغيراً أم كبيراً، فمن الأفضل أن ننظر إلى المقياس على أنه كسر عشري. مثلا، تُعتبر بيانات 1 : 1.000 أو 1: 5.000 مقاييس كبيرة، بينما تُعتبر بيانات مثل 1: 100.000 أو 1 : 1.000.000 مقاييس صغيرة، وبلغة الكسور، فإن مقياس 1: 1.000 يساوي  0.001 بينما مقياس 1: 1.000.000 يساوي 0.000001 ، لذلك فإن بيانات مقياس 1: 1.000 هي ذات مقياس أكبر لأن القيمة الناتجة (0.001 مقابل 0.000001) هي أكبر. لا شك أن مثل هذا التفريق يسبب الإرباك لأن مساحة الأرض المصورة على مقاييس صغيرة تتزايد بينما تتناقص قيمة التفاصيل.

small scale and large scale

هل من أهمية لمقياس الخريطة؟

يمكن عرض البيانات في نظام المعلومات الجغرافية بشكل مادي وفق أي مقياس مطلوب. رغم ذلك، فإن مقياس تجميع المعلومات هو غالباً ما يحدد مستوى أو دقة مظاهر سطح الأرض على الخريطة بالشكل المناسب. إن رسم الخرائط وفق مقاييس كبيرة غالباً ما يميل لأن يكون أكثر دقة وتفصيلاً من الرسم وفق مقاييس صغيرة. وكلما كان رسم الخريطة يتناول تفاصيل صغيرة كلما ازداد الجهد المبذول لجمع المعلومات وتخزينها وحفظها والتعامل معها ومن ثم عرضها أو تجسيدها على الخريطة. إضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن لعرض معلومات شديدة التفاصيل على مستوى منطقة ما أن يكون بطيئاً في نظام المعلومات الجغرافية بسبب الكمية الكبيرة لمعلومات الإحداثيات المذكورة، كما أن إحدى التفاصيل غير المناسبة قد تجعل منظر الخريطة المرسومة فوضوياً من الناحية التصويرية. بينما على العكس من ذلك، قد لا تكون المعلومات التي يتم جمعها وفق مقياس كبير كافية التفاصيل لمساندة التطبيقات المحلية.

بناء على ما تقدم، يتبين لنا أن جمع المعلومات الجغرافية بمستوى مناسب من الدقة يستوجب إجراء توازن دقيق بين تحقيق احتياجاتنا من الدقة والتفاصيل وبين القيود الناتجة المتصلة ببناء قاعدة بيانات والمحافظة عليها عند ذلك المستوى. من ناحية أخرى، يمكن تعديل قواعد عرض المعلومات على الخرائط في تطبيقات نظام المعلومات الجغرافية وفق الاحتياجات وذلك بهدف مساعدة مستخدمي الخرائط في تحديد مواقع المعلومات والوصول إليها اعتماداً على المدى الجغرافي الذي ينظرون منه وعلى الغرض من بعض التطبيقات بذاتها.

ما العلاقة بين الدقة ومقياس الخريطة؟

يمكن للدقة النسبية للمقاييس الطولية والجوية أن تختلف من مكان لآخر، ولكن من ناحية ثانية، كلما اتجهنا نحو اعتماد مقاييس صغيرة في الخرائط كلما أصبحت متطلبات الدقة أقل حدة. لذلك، تصبح المحافظة على معلومات وصفية شاملة حول المصادر العديدة للبيانات مع الإبقاء على مستويات دقتها أمراً بالغ الأهمية. كذلك الأمر، عندما يتم تجميع مظاهر سطح الأرض الطولية مثل الشوارع والطرق السريعة في خريطة ذات مقياس كبير نسبيا، فإنه من الأفضل في هذه الحالة استخراج نسخة معممة عن هذه المظاهر عند عرضها على خريطة ذات مقياس أصغر وذلك من أجل التقليل من تراجع أداء تطبيقات نظام المعلومات الجغرافية. رغم ذلك، إذا ما أخذنا بيانات لإحدى المنشآت تم تجميعها على شكل صورة واضحة متعاقبة ومتوافقة مع عناصر صورة ثلاثية الأبعاد وفق مقياس معين، فإنه يمكن إعادة عرض هذه البيانات بسرعة وفق مقياس أصغر من خلال تطبيقات برنامج إلكتروني دون تراجع شديد في الأداء.

ما هي مقاييس الخرائط المناسبة للبنية التحتية للبيانات المكانية لإمارة أبوظبي؟

كل المقاييس مناسبة، ولكن بغرض تنظيم المرحلة التأسيسية من المشروع، فقد صنفنا هذه المقاييس في مجموعات البيانات الجغرافية الأساسية إلى ثلاثة مستويات :

مقاييس كبيرة. مقياس رسم الخرائط في هذا المستوى هو 1:1.000 – 1:5.000 وأكثر. حيث أن هذا النوع من المقاييس مطلوب في الأعمال الهندسية بما في ذلك رسم خرائط إدارة المنشآت، تصميم، التصميم العمراني "الحضري" والهندسي، والجرد والتقييم البيئي الموضعي. تتناسب هذه المقاييس مع جميع أعمال التخطيط والتصميم الهندسي ولكنها تُُغني عن الحاجة لإجراء أعمال هندسية خاصة بالموقع بما في ذلك إجراء مسح للموقع وتحديد مواضع المرافق تحت الأرض فبل البدء بالتنفيذ الفعلي.

مقاييس متوسطة. مقياس رسم الخرائط  في هذا المستوى هو 1:10.000 – 1:50.000 وأكثر. يتضمن هذا المقياس لرسم الخرائط المناطق الحضرية والمناطق المحيطة بها. ويمكن تجميع البيانات لهذا المقياس عند 1.000:1 ومن ثم يتم تعميمها على هذا المستوى. عادة ما يُستخدم هذا المستوى من البيانات للتخطيط العمراني " المدن" وتخطيط الأراضي وتخطيط وتحليل النقل ورسم الحدود.

مقاييس صغيرة. مقياس رسم الخرائط في هذا المستوى هو 1:100.000 وما فوق. يتضمن مقياس الخرائط هذا المناطق الخلفية في المدن، المناطق الريفية وغيرها من المناطق التي تتوزع فيها التجمعات السكانية والمزارع والبساتين وغيرها من الأمور المشابهة، كما أنها تصور معلومات معممة نسبياً لجميع أنحاء الإمارة. إن رسم الخرائط وفق هذا المقياس يمكن أن يتم باستخدام بيانات تم جمعها بمقياس يتراوح من 10.000:1 إلى 25.000:1 ويمكن تعميمها على هذا المستوى. يجري استخدام هذا المستوى من البيانات عادةً لتخطيط استخدام الأراضي، جرد وتقييم الموارد الطبيعية، رسم نموذج لتسرب المواد السامة ونموذج للمياه الجوفية الموضعية، ورسم خرائط جيولوجية لسطح الأرض والتربة ومن أجل تقييم مثل بعض المسائل مثل المناخ، وتقييم المياه الجوفية على نطاق الإمارة والعرض المتوقع للنمو العمراني.